Nules. The Birthday

Summer 2012, the whatsapp work started. I was ( and I am) among those who are technology friendly. It was simple to explain what, the simple answer was: I am among those who spend time in front of the computer, PC, tablet, Laptop, smartphone, apple devices. I love to be around the table or around the bar, face to face talking with friends, in a business meeting, or chatting with your new love meting him.
As a human, I did the same as everyone else. I remember that a Spanish guy from the Issac Hostel helped me to buy my first phone with internet. He told me: Marisol, it will be useful to learn English. You will write in English. I stared at him with my unfriendly face and I put the credit card on the counter. What to do? We are in the new age!
I didn’t tell my Spanish friend that I was using whatsapp, but I was using it for my new friends in Ireland and of course with my amazing family.
The family calls were daily; the whatsapps with my sister and bother were like my eyes.
The 30th birthday of my sister arrived, and for that special day she booked a flight for me from Dublin to Valencia.
I was in Galway, I took a ban taxi from home to the bus station to go to Dublin and take the flight to Valencia.
It was a surprise, just my sister knew it and we informed my brother to land in Valencia two days earlier.

My sister came to pick me at the airport and when I was walking through the corridor along my house in Nules beach… suddenly my mother asked: who is there? OMG! You are crazy!!! What are you doing here?!!! Come on mum, Do you think that I would miss my sister’s birthday? (summer in the Mediterranean and I don’t know which season in Ireland).
It was an amazing weekend at home in summer and I understand the different between the Mediterranean Sea and the Atlantic sea….the sun and the colour of your skin.
It was a perfect weekend to kiss and hug my family and friends. And to take a big winter bag for the long winter in Ireland waiting for me.

Leave a Reply

